September 9th, 2026

Guide

Lifestyle

English-Speaking Doctors in Tokyo: How To Find One, What It Costs, and What Goes Wrong

English-Speaking Doctors in Tokyo: How To Find One, What It Costs, and What Goes Wrong

English-Speaking Doctors in Tokyo: How To Find One, What It Costs, and What Goes Wrong

Last reviewed 9 Sep 2026 · 28 min read

Most guides to this subject give you a list of clinics and stop. That list is the easy part, and it is also the part that ages badly. Two of the clinics still named in the top English-language search results for Tokyo closed years ago. One shut in 2014.

This post is written for people who live here. Not for a two-week visitor who needs a doctor near their hotel, but for someone on a residence card who is going to be registering with a clinic, filling prescriptions, and eventually having a conversation with a specialist that they need to understand properly. The questions that matter to you are different. You want to know which providers take national health insurance and which will bill you ¥25,000 for an hour. You want to know why walking into a famous hospital costs an extra ¥7,000 before anyone examines you. And you probably want someone to tell you honestly what tends to go wrong, because the cheerful version of this topic is not the version residents actually experience.

We have written it in that order. The search tools first, because the tool everyone still recommends was shut down in 2024. Then the money, because the insurance question decides more of your bill than anything else. Then the specialties. Then the part almost nobody writes in English, which is what Japanese-language sources say about foreign patients when they are talking among themselves.

Official search tool Navii (医療情報ネット), run by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare
Phone line, foreign languages 03-5285-8181, daily 9:00 to 20:00, 365 days
Institutions on Tokyo's foreign-patient list 315, as of June 2026
Standard patient share of the bill 30% if you hold national or employer insurance
Typical insured clinic first visit Roughly ¥1,000 to ¥3,000 out of pocket
Typical private English clinic first visit ¥15,000 and up, no insurance
Best for Anyone with a residence card and an insurance card
Not ideal for People who need talk therapy, or who expect a 30-minute consultation

Quick Answer: How Do You Find an English-Speaking Doctor in Tokyo?

Use Navii, the national medical institution database run by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, and filter by foreign language. If you would rather have a person do it, call 03-5285-8181, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's medical information line for foreign patients, which runs in English, Chinese, Korean, Thai and Spanish from 9:00 to 20:00 every day of the year.

Those two routes will find you a clinic that has told the government it can see you in English. What they will not tell you is how good that English is, how long the appointment will be, or whether the clinic charges extra for the language. For that you need the rest of this post.

The short version of everything below: an ordinary neighborhood clinic that accepts national health insurance and has one English-speaking doctor is almost always the better choice than a famous international clinic, because the insured clinic costs a tenth as much and the famous international clinic is usually not covered. The exception is mental health, where the insured route mostly does not exist.

If you are newly arrived and still working out how the whole system fits together, start with our overview of Tokyo healthcare, English-speaking clinics and health insurance in Japan, which covers enrollment and the basics of how care is organized. This post picks up where that one leaves off, with the search tools, the pricing and the failure modes.

The Advice Most Guides Still Give You Is Out of Date

Search "English speaking doctor Tokyo" and you will be told to use Himawari, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's medical institution search website.

The Himawari website closed on 31 March 2024. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government says so on its own page: the site was shut down when its functions moved into the national system. Nearly every English-language guide still recommends it, some of them updated in 2025 and 2026, which tells you how much of this genre is copied rather than checked.

What replaced it is Navii, the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare's national medical information network, live since April 2024. Before that, each of the 47 prefectures ran its own search site with its own interface and its own data quality. Navii consolidated them. If you have moved from Osaka to Tokyo, or you are searching from abroad before a move, this matters: it is now one system for the whole country.

The name Himawari has not disappeared entirely, which is where the confusion comes from. The telephone service kept the name and still runs 24 hours a day on 03-5272-0303 in Japanese. The foreign-language line is separate, and we come back to it below. So when a guide tells you to "call Himawari", that advice still works. When it tells you to visit the Himawari website, it does not.

One note that carries for the whole post: the government pages we link to are published in Japanese. Navii offers machine translation into English, Chinese and Korean through a translation service link on the page, and it is good enough to operate the search. The underlying data is Japanese.

How To Search for a Doctor Who Speaks Your Language, Step by Step

how-to-find-an-english-speaking-doctor-in-tokyo-step-by-step.png

Navii's foreign-language filter is a top-level search option, sitting alongside department, opening days and location. It works for hospitals, clinics, dental clinics, midwifery centers and pharmacies. Being able to filter pharmacies is worth knowing about, because the pharmacy is where a lot of foreign residents actually get stuck: the doctor explains the diagnosis, and then a separate counter hands over three unlabeled bags and a Japanese-only instruction sheet.

A few things about how to use it well.

Filter by station, not by ward. Ward boundaries in Tokyo do not match how anyone actually travels. A clinic in Minato Ward can be a 35-minute trip from another part of Minato Ward, and the clinic two stops down your own line in the next ward is the one you will actually keep going back to.

Search the department, not the symptom. Japanese medicine is organized by department and expects you to have self-triaged. If you have a persistent cough you go to 内科 (internal medicine) or 呼吸器内科 (respiratory internal medicine), not to a general practitioner who then routes you. There is no gatekeeper system the way there is in the UK or Canada. This surprises people, and it is one of the genuine advantages of the Japanese system once you get used to it, because you can book directly with a specialist without waiting months for a referral.

Treat the language field as a claim, not a guarantee. The foreign-language flag in Navii comes from the institution's own annual report to the government. It means somebody at that institution said they can handle a foreign-language patient. It does not distinguish between a doctor who trained in the United States and a receptionist with a translation app. Call before you go.

That last point is not us being cynical. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government's own page says it plainly: the information comes from institutions' self-reports, and you should telephone to confirm before you travel.

The Phone Lines That Still Work

If the database route is not getting you anywhere, or you are sick right now and do not want to operate a search interface, there are people to call.

The Tokyo Metropolitan Government's medical information service for foreign patients is on 03-5285-8181. It runs in English, Chinese, Korean, Thai and Spanish, every day from 9:00 to 20:00, 365 days a year. The consultation is free and you pay only the call charge. They will find you an institution that can see you in your language, and they will explain how the Japanese medical system works if you need that too. Note that the detail page for this service carries a 2021 update date, so confirm the hours on the day if you are calling late in the evening.

The AMDA International Medical Information Center is the other one worth saving. It is a non-profit, founded in 1991, and it has been doing this longer than any government service. Free telephone medical consultation on 0120-339-266, weekdays 10:00 to 16:00, closed on public holidays and over New Year. AMDA will guide you to institutions where your language is spoken and explain the medical and welfare system, and it also takes calls from hospitals and local government desks that are stuck with a patient they cannot communicate with. That second function tells you something about the state of the system.

For general life admin rather than medicine, the Tokyo Multilingual Consultation Navi runs on 0120-142-142, weekdays 10:00 to 16:00, in 14 languages including Vietnamese, Nepali, Tagalog, Hindi and Indonesian. This is the one to use if your problem is a form rather than a symptom.

Insurance or Self-Pay: The Field That Decides Your Bill

Here is the single most consequential thing to check about any clinic before you make an appointment, and it is the thing English-language listicles bury or skip: does this provider accept Japanese national health insurance?

If you hold a residence card and you are living in Japan legally, you are required to be in the public health insurance system, either through your employer or through National Health Insurance at your ward office. That coverage means you pay 30% of the cost of treatment and the insurer pays the rest. The 30% share applies to everyone from the end of compulsory schooling to age 70, with lower shares for young children and older adults.

The catch is that 30% only applies at institutions that operate inside the insurance system, which are called 保険医療機関 (hoken iryou kikan, insured medical institutions). The great majority of clinics and hospitals in Tokyo are. Several of the best-known English-language clinics are not.

A clinic outside the system is doing 自由診療 (jiyuu shinryou, free-price medicine). It sets its own prices and your insurance card is worth nothing there. Tokyo Medical and Surgical Clinic, one of the oldest expat clinics in the city, states it directly on its own site: it is not part of the national insurance system and payment cannot be made or reimbursed using it. American Clinic Tokyo says the same, and prices from ¥15,000 plus tax.

There is a middle case that catches people out. Some insured hospitals will treat an uninsured patient, but bill at a different rate per point. The Japanese Red Cross Medical Center in Hiroo and Sanno Hospital in Akasaka both publish this: insured treatment is calculated at ¥10 per medical point, uninsured at ¥30 per point. Same treatment, three times the price, because the point tariff is only fixed inside the insurance system.

So the question to ask when you call is not "do you speak English". It is "保険診療ですか" (hoken shinryou desu ka), do you do insured treatment. If the answer is no, ask what the visit costs before you book it.

If you are still working out which card you present at reception and how to get onto the system in the first place, our guide to health insurance in Japan for foreigners and National Health Insurance covers enrollment, premiums and what each type of coverage includes.

One recent change worth knowing about: new paper health insurance cards stopped being issued on 2 December 2024, and the old ones expired on 1 December 2025. You now present either a My Number Card registered for insurance use, or a 資格確認書 (shikaku kakuninsho, eligibility confirmation certificate). The certificate is issued free and automatically to anyone without a registered My Number Card, so there is no application step to worry about. It arrives from your insurer, which means your ward office if you are on National Health Insurance and your employer's scheme if you are not.

What an Appointment Actually Costs

tokyo-english-speaking-doctor-cost-per-visit-comparison-2026.png

Japanese medical fees are set nationally, in points, and revised every two years. One point is ¥10. In the FY2026 revision, effective 1 June 2026, the first-visit fee (初診料) (PDF) stayed at 291 points and the follow-up fee (再診料) rose from 75 to 76 points. So a first visit costs ¥2,910 before anything else is added, of which you pay 30%, or about ¥873.

That is the base only. Tests, imaging, procedures and prescriptions each add their own points, which is why a real visit lands higher than the base fee. Here is what to budget.

Route What you actually pay Notes
Insured neighborhood clinic, simple visit ~¥1,000 to ¥3,000 Base fee plus a basic test or two, at 30%
Insured clinic with blood work and imaging ~¥3,000 to ¥8,000 Still at 30%, but the point count climbs fast
Large hospital, with a referral letter ~¥2,000 to ¥6,000 Referral letter itself typically ¥2,500 at 30%
Large hospital, no referral letter Add ¥7,000+ tax on top Statutory minimum surcharge, see below
Private English-language clinic ¥15,000 and up No insurance, price set by the clinic
Counseling or psychotherapy in English ¥20,000 to ¥28,000 per session Almost never insured, see the mental health section

Insured figures are our estimate of typical out-of-pocket ranges built from the national fee schedule at the 30% patient share; the exact total depends entirely on what tests you have. Self-pay figures are the published prices of the clinics named later in this post, checked in September 2026. Treat all of these as current ranges, not fixed prices.

The gap between the top and bottom rows of that table is the whole argument of this post. An insured clinic visit and a private English clinic visit for the same complaint can differ by a factor of ten. That is not a quality difference. It is a billing-system difference.

The ¥7,000 Surcharge for Skipping the Referral

This is the most common expensive mistake foreign residents make in Tokyo, and it happens for a logical reason: the big famous hospitals are the ones with English-language pages, so that is where people go first.

Since 1 October 2022, if you turn up at a 特定機能病院 (advanced treatment hospital), a regional support hospital with 200 or more general beds, or a designated referral-focused hospital with 200 or more general beds, without a referral letter from another doctor, the hospital is required to charge you a surcharge (PDF) on top of your normal share. The statutory minimum is ¥7,000 for a first visit and ¥3,000 for a follow-up, in medicine, and ¥5,000 and ¥1,900 in dentistry. Those are minimums, before consumption tax, and hospitals are free to charge more.

They do. St. Luke's International Hospital in Chuo Ward charges ¥8,800. The National Center for Global Health and Medicine in Shinjuku charges ¥11,000. The Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare confirmed in the FY2026 fee revision that the statutory minimums are unchanged, so this is the position for the current period.

The system also quietly reduces what the insurer pays when the surcharge applies, cutting 200 points from the first-visit fee, so the money moves toward you from two directions at once.

You are exempt if you arrive as an emergency, or if you are on public medical assistance. Otherwise, the fix is straightforward and worth the extra week: see a local clinic first, ask for a 紹介状 (shoukaijou, referral letter), and take it to the hospital. The letter costs you a few thousand yen at 30%, and it saves you the surcharge and usually gets you a faster appointment slot, because referred patients are the ones these hospitals are designed to see.

Some hospitals sidestep this entirely. Sanno Hospital in Akasaka states on its English page that no referral is needed and there is no additional first-visit consultation fee, which is unusual and is part of why it has the expat reputation it has.

Where Tokyo's English-Language Medicine Actually Sits on the Map

tokyo-foreign-patient-medical-institutions-key-facts-2026.png

This is the part of the topic that belongs to a real estate company rather than a health blog, and we think it is the most useful thing in this post.

The Tokyo Metropolitan Government maintains a list of institutions it calls core medical institutions accepting foreign patients. To get on it, an institution has to report in the national database that it can accept foreign-language patients, publish a phone number that is answered in a foreign language, and clear a volume threshold: 270 foreign patients over the previous six months for a hospital, 60 for a clinic. Drop below twice in a row and you come off the list. So this is not a self-declared badge. It is a list of places that demonstrably see foreign patients in numbers.

As of June 2026 there are 315 institutions on it: 42 hospitals, 178 clinics and 95 dental clinics.

They are not evenly spread. 120 of the 315, roughly 38%, sit in one of Tokyo's twelve secondary medical regions, the central ward area covering Chiyoda, Chuo, Minato, Bunkyo and Taito. Another 43 are in the southwest ward area and 43 in the west ward area. At the other end, the northeast ward area has 8, and the Nishitama region in far western Tokyo has one.

Read that as a housing map and it tells you something practical. If you have a chronic condition, a pregnancy, a child with a complex medical history, or you simply know that you will be at a doctor several times a year, the difference between living in Bunkyo and living in Ome is not a 20-minute difference. It is the difference between a dozen options within a few stops and effectively none.

We are not going to tell you to move to Minato Ward because of this. Plenty of people live in Setagaya or Nerima and manage their healthcare perfectly well, because a clinic that does not appear on a government list can still have a doctor who did a fellowship in Boston. But if English-language medical access is genuinely near the top of your list, it lines up almost exactly with the central and southwestern wards, and it is worth saying that out loud rather than pretending the whole city is the same.

Central Tokyo's medical concentration is one reason so many of our clients with families land in the same handful of wards. Our Minato City area guide covers what living there actually costs and which neighborhoods inside it suit which budget, if you are weighing that trade-off.

Separately, eleven Tokyo institutions hold JMIP certification, a third-party accreditation set up under the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare and run by the Japan Medical Education Foundation. It certifies that an institution has proper systems for receiving foreign patients: interpretation, multilingual documentation, religious and cultural accommodation. It is not a clinical quality rating and should not be read as one. Nationally there are 68 certified institutions, which for a country with more than 8,000 hospitals is a small number and tells you this is a young program rather than a settled standard.

Hospitals That Take National Insurance and Publish English Support

These are institutions where you can use your insurance card and where English service is stated on the institution's own website, checked in September 2026. Everything here is what the provider says about itself. Confirm before you travel, and confirm what the interpretation arrangement actually is on the day you go.

St. Luke's International Hospital (聖路加国際病院), Chuo Ward. Seven minutes from Tsukiji Station on the Hibiya Line, eight from Shintomicho on the Yurakucho Line. Accepts insurance, and asks patients to use a My Number Card registered for insurance. Full general hospital including obstetrics. Its site is published in eight languages. Two things to know before you call: the non-referral surcharge is ¥8,800, and the hospital states that patients without both a referral letter and an appointment cannot be seen. Booking is by phone on 03-5550-7120, not online.

Japanese Red Cross Medical Center (日本赤十字社医療センター), Shibuya Ward. Hiroo 4-1-22, and the hospital's own directions note the walk from Hiroo Station on the Hibiya Line is about 15 minutes on a moderately steep uphill, which is worth knowing if you are going there unwell. Accepts insurance; uninsured patients are billed at ¥30 per point. Around 30 departments including mental health, obstetrics and gynecology, and pediatrics. Online first-visit booking is available 24 hours a day, which is rare among the large hospitals. The site does not state an interpretation service, so ask.

National Center for Global Health and Medicine, Shinjuku Ward. Toyama 1-21-1, five minutes from Wakamatsu-Kawada Station on the Toei Oedo Line. Now operating under the JIHS umbrella at hosp.jihs.go.jp. This has the best interpretation provision of any hospital we checked: in-person interpreting in English, Chinese, Vietnamese, Nepali and Burmese, plus remote interpreting 24 hours a day, 365 days a year in seven languages and weekday coverage for around ten more. There is a dedicated desk on 03-6228-0749. Accepts insurance. Non-referral surcharge ¥11,000.

Sanno Hospital (山王病院), Minato Ward. Akasaka 8-10-16, four minutes from Aoyama-itchome on the Ginza, Hanzomon and Toei Oedo lines. Accepts insurance, and states on its English pages that most doctors speak English and interpretation is available. No referral required and no additional first-visit fee. Strong in women's medicine, reproductive medicine and neonatal care. Uninsured patients are billed at ¥30 per point with a ¥30,000 deposit, and the hospital does not do direct billing to overseas insurers. Phone booking only.

Seibo International Catholic Hospital (聖母病院), Shinjuku Ward. Nakaochiai 2-5-1, seven minutes from Shimo-Ochiai on the Seibu Shinjuku Line. Accepts insurance. This is the only hospital we found that publishes its interpretation hours by language: English Monday to Friday 9:00 to 15:00 and Saturday 9:00 to 12:30, plus Spanish, French on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, and Burmese. Fifteen departments including obstetrics, pediatrics and psychiatry. It also does visa medical examinations. No online booking; call 03-3951-1111 and ask for an interpreter.

Tokyo Midtown Clinic, Minato Ward. Midtown Tower 6F, direct access from Roppongi Station on the Hibiya and Toei Oedo lines. Accepts insurance for standard treatment and states that English-speaking staff are available, with a self-pay wing for executive health screening and other services that fall outside insurance. Patients must be 16 or over. Online booking for internal medicine only.

Toranomon Hospital, Minato Ward. Included with a caveat rather than a recommendation. It is a major insured hospital three minutes from Toranomon Hills Station, and it appears on plenty of English-language lists, but its own site advertises no English-language service at all and it operates on a referral-only basis. Do not turn up expecting either.

Private English-Language Clinics, and What You Give Up

Private clinics buy you three things: an appointment you can book quickly, a doctor whose English needs no qualification, and a consultation that runs longer than the Japanese average. They cost roughly ten times as much and your insurance card does nothing.

Tokyo Medical and Surgical Clinic (TMSC), Minato Ward. 3-4-30 Shiba-koen, opposite Tokyo Tower. Established 1951 and the closest thing Tokyo has to an institution in this category. Its own site states clearly that it is not part of the national health insurance system and that payment cannot be made or reimbursed through it. Primary care, children's and women's health, cardiology, gastroenterology, dermatology, ophthalmology, ENT, orthopedics, psychotherapy, physiotherapy, dietetics, speech and occupational therapy. Site in English, French, German and Japanese. Online booking.

American Clinic Tokyo, Minato Ward. 1-7-4 Akasaka. Cash-only and explicitly outside the insurance system, with published fees from ¥15,000 plus tax. Native English-speaking physicians, general medicine, psychology and psychiatry, vaccinations, plus online consultations and hotel visits. Worth knowing that new patient access has been limited, so do not treat it as a walk-in option.

The honest read on this category: if you have private international health insurance through an employer that reimburses out-of-network care, these clinics are excellent and the price is somebody else's problem. If you are paying out of your own pocket while also paying National Health Insurance premiums every month, you are buying the same medicine twice. Most long-term residents we talk to use an insured neighborhood clinic for ordinary things and keep a private clinic in reserve for the appointment where they genuinely cannot afford a misunderstanding.

Mental Health Care in English

This is where the Japanese system is at its weakest for foreign residents, and the reason is structural rather than cultural.

National health insurance covers psychiatric consultation and medication management. It does not cover psychotherapy or counseling in the way most people arriving from the US, UK or Australia expect. So a psychiatrist can see you, diagnose you and prescribe under insurance at the usual 30%. An hour of talking to a therapist is almost always self-pay at private rates.

The numbers, from the providers' own published fees:

TELL Japan is the place to start, and its Lifeline on 0800-300-8355 is free, in English, 9:00 to 23:00 Monday to Thursday and 9:00 to 02:00 Friday to Sunday. Its counseling service states plainly that it is not covered by Japanese national health insurance. The standard fee is ¥24,200 including tax for a 53-minute session, with a sliding scale for households under ¥900,000 a month and direct billing arrangements for TriCare Prime and AFSPA. Services in English, Japanese and Cantonese. Intake is by online form and the Tokyo office has been running a waitlist.

Tokyo Mental Health in Chuo Ward, one minute from Shintomicho Station, charges ¥24,000 to ¥28,000 including tax for a 60-minute session and states that neither it nor its psychiatric partner can accept Japanese national health insurance. Counseling, psychological and ADHD and ASD testing, and psychiatry. English plus bilingual Japanese, Mandarin, Malay, Spanish and Sinhalese. Expect a four to six week wait.

Meguro Counseling Center, in the Ebisu and Nakameguro area, puts the split most clearly of anyone: Japanese national health insurance can be used for medication prescriptions but does not cover its counseling services. Psychotherapy, CBT, couples and family work, child and adolescent care. We could not find content on its site dated 2024 or later, so confirm it is operating before you plan around it.

Two more things people arriving here need to hear early. Stimulant medications for ADHD that are routine in other countries are controlled or unavailable in Japan, and bringing them in is a customs problem rather than a prescription problem, so check before you fly rather than after. And psychiatric appointments under insurance in Japan are short and medication-focused by design, which is not the same experience as a 50-minute session even when the doctor's English is fluent.

If you want the wider picture of how psychiatric care, counseling and crisis support fit together here, our guide to mental health support in Japan goes through the system rather than the clinic list.

Women's Health, Children and Dental Care in English

Aiiku Clinic (愛育クリニック), Minato Ward. Minami-Azabu 5-6-8, about eight minutes from Hiroo Station on the Hibiya Line. The strongest verified option in this category. It accepts insurance and runs an International Unit offering discussion, counseling and treatment in English, Spanish and Japanese. Obstetrics and gynecology, NIPT, pediatrics through to junior high school age, vaccinations and perinatal mental health. Web booking is open 24 hours.

For gynecology specifically, one procedural point that surprises a lot of women and has nothing to do with language: examinations are frequently conducted with a curtain drawn between the patient and the doctor. It is intended as privacy. If you are not expecting it, it reads as being left alone during something you wanted to be present for. Knowing in advance that it is standard practice, and that you can ask for it to be opened, removes most of the shock.

Dental care in English is easier to find than most people assume, in part because 95 of the 315 institutions on Tokyo's foreign-patient list are dental clinics. Roppongi Keyakizaka Dental Office in Minato Ward states on its English page that it accepts Japanese national health insurance and takes bookings online around the clock. Tokyo Midtown Dental Clinic, connected to Roppongi Station, accepts insurance but notes that some treatments fall outside it, which is the normal position in Japanese dentistry: basic restorative work is covered, and anything cosmetic, ceramic or implant-based generally is not. Rodin Dental Office near Onarimon Station is entirely self-pay and says so on its site.

Two clinics that appear on almost every English-language list of Tokyo doctors are worth naming here because they are not options. Tokyo British Clinic closed in 2014, on its founder's retirement, and its own domain says so; an old page on a second host still looks live, which is what the listicles keep copying. King Clinic and Primary Care Tokyo could not be verified as operating in September 2026. Their domains do not resolve or serve placeholder pages. If a guide is still recommending these, it has not checked anything.

Emergencies and After Hours

Call 119 for an ambulance. The Tokyo Fire Department states that it keeps English-speaking staff on duty at all times for 119 calls, with three-way telephone interpretation available in English, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. Ambulances in Japan are free at the point of use. There is no charge for the ride.

#7119 is the Tokyo Fire Department's emergency consultation center, staffed by doctors and nurses 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, for when you cannot tell whether something warrants an ambulance. In the 23 wards the landline number is 03-3212-2323, and in the Tama area 042-521-2323. The Tokyo Fire Department does not state that this line is staffed in English, so do not count on it in a crisis.

The Japan Visitor Hotline on 050-3816-2787, run by the Japan National Tourism Organization, is 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, in English, Chinese and Korean, and it covers accidents and illness as well as travel questions. It is aimed at visitors, but it is the only round-the-clock multilingual line we could verify, so it is the number to have saved for 3am.

The gap here is real and worth stating: Tokyo's own foreign-language medical information line closes at 20:00, and the interpretation service the metropolitan government funds for emergencies can only be requested by the hospital, not by you. Its own page says so. So the practical position at midnight is 119 in English, or a hotline aimed at tourists.

What Japanese Sources Say and English Guides Leave Out

Every English-language article on this topic is written in the same register: here is a list of clinics, access is improving, you will be fine. Read the Japanese-language material and a different picture comes back.

The most direct account comes from Narumi Hori, then at the National Center for Global Health and Medicine, writing for nippon.com. She describes two things rising at once from around 2015: foreign residents asking her to find them a hospital where the language works, and other hospitals asking her center to take their foreign patients because they had no interpretation arrangements of their own. Her point is that most Japanese medical institutions have no job category called interpreter, no budget line for interpretation, and where there is a budget, no supply of interpreters who understand clinical terminology. Her conclusion is the sentence no English guide contains: at institutions that cannot carry that cost, the reaction runs in the opposite direction from coexistence, toward avoiding foreign patients where possible.

Nurses say something similar about what actually fails. In Japanese trade press interviews, ward nurses describe the problem not as English but as everything beyond gestures: simple things get across, and treatment plans, fasting instructions, bed-rest orders and drug side-effect warnings do not. The translation devices hospitals buy struggle with medical terms. And almost no clinical staff receive any training in handling foreign patients at all.

The sharpest material is academic. A 2017 study in the Journal of Japan Academy of Nursing Science interviewed 22 foreign residents in Japanese about their experience of Japanese healthcare. The categories the researchers extracted include the doctor not conversing sufficiently, a wall being put up, cultural background receiving no attention, and being unable to exercise the right to refuse. Participants described being asked to sign consent forms they could not read, being spoken past in favor of a Japanese-looking family member, and appointments that ended before their questions began. It is nine years old, which is a real limitation, and it is a small qualitative sample rather than a survey. But it is the only place we found where both sides of this appear at once, and it sides with the patients.

There is a political layer too. Japanese-language discussion of foreign patients and money is largely about unpaid bills and alleged misuse of the insurance system. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government has run a scheme since 1994 that partially reimburses institutions for unpaid bills from foreign patients, capped at ¥2,000,000 per patient per institution and restricted to emergency care for people who are not covered by public insurance and not on a short-stay visa. The scheme exists because the problem is real enough to fund. It also means the institutional conversation about you starts from a defensive position that you will never see.

None of this should stop you seeking care, and none of it is a reason to be suspicious of the doctor in front of you. But it explains something that otherwise looks like bad luck: why a clinic that appears in a search result can be cool with you on the phone, and why a fluent English-speaking doctor sitting inside an untrained reception, nursing and billing chain still produces a bad visit. The doctor's English was never the bottleneck.

The Language Support Fee, and Why It Matters More Than It Looks

The newest development in this area, and the one to watch, is clinics beginning to charge foreign patients a separate fee for language support.

The pattern reported by residents is a notice at reception stating that where the clinic judges communication in Japanese to be difficult, it will use translation devices or a language support service and bill for it. In the most-discussed case, the patient had been going to the same clinic for four years, deliberately spoke Japanese throughout the appointment, and was still billed at checkout because the doctor explained a couple of points in English. In another account, a Tokyo neighborhood clinic dropped a similar policy after a run of one-star reviews.

We are not going to put a number on this, because the figures circulating come from forum posts and we have not been able to trace any of them to a published price list. Treat the amounts as unverified. The pattern is what matters.

Two ways to read it. The generous reading is that interpretation genuinely costs money that nobody reimburses, and a clinic charging for it is being transparent about a real cost. The uncomfortable reading is the one residents themselves make: a clinic charging extra to a long-term resident who is already paying into the same insurance system is charging differently for the same medical service, on the basis of who you are rather than what you need. A visitor clinic building a premium English service is a business model you can choose. A neighborhood clinic doing it is not.

Practically: ask about it when you book. If a clinic charges a language support fee, it should be able to tell you what it is on the phone.

Interpreting Services: What Exists and Who Can Request Them

There is a Tokyo Metropolitan Government interpretation service, it is free, it covers nine languages, and you cannot use it.

The emergency interpretation service runs on 0570-099283 in English, Chinese, Korean, Thai, Spanish, French, Vietnamese, Nepali and Tagalog, with English and Chinese available 24 hours and the rest on weekday evenings and weekend daytimes. Video interpreting was added in 2024. The metropolitan government's page states explicitly that the service is provided in response to requests from medical institutions in Tokyo and that patients cannot request it themselves.

That single line explains a lot about how this topic works in practice. The interpreting exists, the funding exists, and access to it runs through whether the institution in front of you has registered for it and thought to use it. Which is why the hospitals with genuinely good foreign-patient service, like the National Center for Global Health and Medicine with its own interpreting desk, are the exception rather than the norm.

For the wider set of workarounds residents use when the language is the barrier rather than the medicine, our guide to how non-Japanese speakers can access quality healthcare in Tokyo is a practical starting point.

What you can do yourself: bring someone. A bilingual friend or colleague is still the most reliable interpretation available to most residents, and no clinic will object. Write your symptoms down in Japanese before you go, using a translation app at home where you have time to check the output, rather than in the consulting room where you do not. And ask for the diagnosis in writing. A written Japanese diagnosis you can translate carefully afterward beats a spoken English explanation you half-followed.

Pros and Cons of Tokyo's English-Language Medical Care

tokyo-english-speaking-healthcare-pros-and-cons-for-foreign-residents.png

What works:

  • You pay 30% of everything, and the ceiling on catastrophic costs is low by international standards. A hospital stay here does not end your finances.
  • No gatekeeper. You can book a dermatologist or a cardiologist directly, this week, without a referral from a family doctor, as long as it is not one of the large hospitals covered by the surcharge rule.
  • Waiting times for ordinary care are short. Same-week specialist access is normal.
  • Ambulances are free, and 119 is staffed in English around the clock.
  • Prescription drugs are cheap under insurance, and pharmacies are everywhere.
  • 315 institutions in Tokyo publicly commit to seeing foreign patients, and the list is maintained against a real volume test rather than self-declaration.

What does not:

  • Appointments are short. Ten minutes is normal, and it is not a sign the doctor is dismissing you.
  • Psychotherapy and counseling are effectively outside the insurance system, so English-language mental health care is expensive.
  • The interpretation that exists is requested by the hospital, not by you.
  • Access is geographically lopsided. Central and southwestern Tokyo have most of it.
  • The famous English-language clinics are largely self-pay, which is a poor deal if you are already paying premiums.
  • The 30% co-pay does not apply to anything outside the insurance system, and the boundary is not always obvious in advance.
  • Explanation norms are thinner than in most Western systems. You will often need to ask twice.

Who This Works For, and Who Should Plan Differently

It works well if you are a working-age resident with insurance and ordinary medical needs. Colds, injuries, skin complaints, dental work, annual checks, pregnancy and childbirth are all well covered, cheap at the point of use, and available in English somewhere within reach of most of central Tokyo. For this group Japan is genuinely one of the better places in the world to be sick.

Plan differently if any of the following is you.

If you are managing a mental health condition that needs regular talk therapy, budget for it as an out-of-pocket cost from the start, in the region of ¥20,000 to ¥28,000 a session, and check your medication is legal in Japan before you move rather than after. This is the single most common thing people underestimate.

If you are used to a family doctor who knows your history and gives you 30 minutes, the adjustment is going to be uncomfortable regardless of language. The Japanese system is efficient and specialist-led, not relational. Some people find that liberating. Some find it cold. Both reactions are reasonable.

If you have a complex or rare condition, do not rely on finding an English-speaking specialist locally. Work through a hospital with a dedicated international patient service and accept that you will travel to it.

If you are moving to far western Tokyo, Nishitama, or the outer Tama municipalities, and English-language healthcare matters to you, look at the map before you sign a lease rather than after. That region has one institution on the metropolitan list.

Four Routes to an English-Speaking Doctor, Compared

tokyo-english-speaking-doctor-four-routes-compared.png

Route Typical cost per visit Wait to be seen Best for
Insured neighborhood clinic with an English-speaking doctor ~¥1,000 to ¥3,000 Same or next day Everyday illness, repeat prescriptions, the default
Large insured hospital with international patient services ~¥2,000 to ¥6,000 with a referral One to three weeks Complex conditions, surgery, anything needing a specialist team
Private English-language clinic ¥15,000 and up Days, if they are taking patients Appointments where you cannot risk a misunderstanding, or employer-paid coverage
English-language counseling and psychotherapy ¥20,000 to ¥28,000 Four to six weeks Talk therapy, which the insured system does not really offer

Cost ranges as described earlier in this post. Waiting times are what providers publish or what residents consistently report, not a guarantee.

Practical Advice from E-Housing

A few things we have learned from clients doing this, in rough order of how much they save people.

Register with a local insured clinic before you are ill. Walk in once for something trivial, a flu shot or a minor complaint, and find out then whether the language works. Finding out at 8am with a fever is worse in every way.

Ask two questions when you phone, in this order: do you accept insurance, and is there any additional fee for foreign-language support. Both answers should be immediate. Hesitation on the second one is information.

Keep the referral letter habit. Once a local doctor has referred you to a hospital, that relationship is worth maintaining, because the next referral is easier and you never pay the surcharge.

Photograph your prescription bags and the insert sheet. Pharmacies hand over Japanese-only instructions, and translating them at home once is faster than working it out at the counter every time.

For families, check the medical map when you shortlist neighborhoods, not after. The wards where English-language clinics cluster are also the wards where international schools and English-speaking dentists cluster, and if you are optimizing for all three, the shortlist gets short quickly. That is a reason to be deliberate about it, not a reason to overpay for Minato.

At E-Housing, we work with foreigners, expat families, international students and working professionals across greater Tokyo every day, and healthcare access comes up in almost every family search we run. We know which neighborhoods put you within a few stops of a clinic where the language works, and which ones look convenient on a map and are not. If you are weighing a move and this is one of the things on your list, tell us. It is a normal thing to factor into a search, and it is easier to solve before you sign a lease than afterward.

Final Verdict: Is It Hard To Find an English-Speaking Doctor in Tokyo?

Finding one is not hard. Navii and one phone call will do it in an afternoon, and 315 Tokyo institutions have committed publicly to seeing foreign patients.

What is hard is everything downstream of that. Getting an appointment where the whole chain works, not just the doctor. Understanding the bill before you get it. Finding talk therapy at a price that is not a mortgage payment. Being sure you understood what you signed. The English-language internet treats this as a discovery problem and hands you a list. The Japanese-language record treats it as a funding and training problem, and on the evidence, the Japanese-language record is closer to right.

Which is why the practical advice in this post is mostly about preparation rather than search. Register somewhere before you need it, insist on the insured route unless you have a specific reason not to, get the referral letter, and write things down. Do those four things and Tokyo is a comfortable place to be a patient. Skip them and you will meet the system at its worst, on the day you are least able to handle it.

FAQ: English-Speaking Doctors in Tokyo

How do I find an English-speaking doctor in Tokyo?

Search Navii, the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare's national medical institution database, and filter by foreign language. Or call the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's foreign patient line on 03-5285-8181, daily 9:00 to 20:00.

Is the Himawari website still available?

No. The Himawari medical institution search website closed on 31 March 2024 when its functions moved into the national Navii system. The Himawari telephone service still operates on 03-5272-0303, in Japanese, 24 hours a day.

Do English-speaking doctors in Tokyo accept Japanese national health insurance?

Many do, and many do not. Large hospitals like St. Luke's, Sanno and Seibo accept insurance and have English-language service. The best-known private expat clinics, including Tokyo Medical and Surgical Clinic and American Clinic Tokyo, are outside the insurance system entirely. Always ask before booking.

How much does a doctor's visit cost in Tokyo with insurance?

Expect roughly ¥1,000 to ¥3,000 out of pocket for a straightforward clinic visit, and more if you have blood work or imaging. The national first-visit fee is 291 points, or ¥2,910, of which you pay 30%.

How much is a doctor's visit without insurance in Tokyo?

At an insured hospital treating you as a self-pay patient, expect around ¥30 per medical point instead of ¥10, so roughly three times the full insured price. At a private English-language clinic, published fees start around ¥15,000 plus tax.

Why was I charged an extra ¥7,000 at the hospital?

You went to a large designated hospital without a referral letter. Since October 2022 those hospitals are required to charge a surcharge of at least ¥7,000 for a first visit and ¥3,000 for a follow-up. Individual hospitals charge more: St. Luke's charges ¥8,800 and the National Center for Global Health and Medicine ¥11,000.

Do I need a referral to see a specialist in Japan?

Not usually. You can book directly with most specialist clinics. You do need a referral to avoid the surcharge at large designated hospitals, and a few hospitals such as Toranomon operate on a referral-only basis.

Is counseling or therapy covered by Japanese health insurance?

Psychiatric consultation and medication management are covered. Psychotherapy and counseling generally are not, so English-language talk therapy in Tokyo is a self-pay service at roughly ¥20,000 to ¥28,000 a session.

What number do I call for an ambulance in Tokyo?

  1. The Tokyo Fire Department keeps English-speaking staff on duty at all times for 119 calls and can add three-way interpretation in Chinese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. Ambulances are free.

Is there a 24-hour English-language medical helpline in Tokyo?

The Japan Visitor Hotline on 050-3816-2787 runs 24 hours a day, 365 days a year in English, Chinese and Korean and covers illness and accidents. Tokyo's own foreign-language medical line closes at 20:00.

Can I request a medical interpreter myself?

No. Tokyo's funded emergency interpretation service is requested by the medical institution, not by the patient. Bring a bilingual friend, or choose a hospital that runs its own interpreting desk, such as the National Center for Global Health and Medicine.

Which areas of Tokyo have the most English-speaking clinics?

Central Tokyo by a wide margin. Of the 315 institutions on the metropolitan government's foreign-patient list as of June 2026, 120 are in the central ward area covering Chiyoda, Chuo, Minato, Bunkyo and Taito. Far western Tokyo has one.

What is JMIP certification?

It is a third-party accreditation confirming that a medical institution has proper systems for receiving foreign patients, including interpretation and multilingual documentation. Eleven Tokyo institutions hold it, out of 68 nationally. It is not a clinical quality rating.

What do I bring to a medical appointment in Japan?

Your My Number Card registered for health insurance use, or your eligibility confirmation certificate, plus your residence card, any referral letter, cash or a card, and a written note of your symptoms and current medications. Paper health insurance cards stopped being issued in December 2024 and expired in December 2025.

Are appointments in Japan really only ten minutes?

Often, yes. Japanese consultations are short and focused by design, and it is not a sign the doctor is dismissing you. If you need more time, say so at the start, and write your questions down before you go in.

Can I get my ADHD medication in Japan?

Frequently not. Several stimulant medications that are routine elsewhere are controlled or unavailable in Japan, and bringing them into the country is a customs matter rather than a prescription one. Check the position before you move, not after you arrive.

Share article

Get In Touch

Let’s Connect! How Can We Assist?

E-Housing connects you with quality properties across Tokyo. Whether you’re renting, buying or selling, our experts are ready to help. Fill out the form below for a response within 24 hours.

*
*
*